Writing

Celebrating a love of mine – Poetry

Large-Blue-RGB-National-Poetry-Month-Logo

Today marks the beginning of 2016’s national poetry month. This year is the 20th anniversary, having started in 1996 by the Academy of American Poets. According to them, National Poetry Month has “become the largest literary celebration in the world with schools, publishers, libraries, booksellers, and poets celebrating poetry’s vital place in our culture.”

They have all sorts of ways to celebrate (check out the link above), including signing up to read a poem a day.

For me, today, I’d like to kick off the month with a poem of my own, shared here.

Prairie Sunset

I stare at the western sky
Watching
As the ardent sun slowly dies
For one more night.
I see my life in the sun-
The same routine repeating
Day after endless day.
For me, there is no rest
No hope at the end.
But the sun needs no rest
As it burns a well worn path
Across the sky.
Its hope is in the symphony of color
That dances through the air each night;
Its change is in giving new life
To the golden fields of wheat.
It is in gazing at this magnificence
That I find my rest, my hope, and my peace.

Leave a Reply

