Home and Family

Springtime and Mother’s day reflections

 

20160506_170405.jpg
“Spring … it medicates the bones and revives the spirit.”

There is something so uplifting to me about spring time. The sun comes out, the plants begin to grow, the trees in my yard start to bloom and smell wonderful. I feel alive after a long prairie winter.

I haven’t written anything on here for awhile because I’ve been outside, enjoying the air, enjoying the sun, and mostly enjoying my girls. It’s been hard to do that sometimes, I feel stretched so thin, and like I’m always giving all of myself. But this time of year is suddenly breathing new life into my spirit, we’re going for walks and bike rides and playing at the park near our house. And suddenly, fitting in school isn’t a struggle for us. We’re finding time for more things – partly thanks to cutting way back on our TV viewing.

Today being Mothers day – which was a gorgeous one for us here, I wanted to share something that I came across on Facebook the other day. I share it because it really spoke to my heart of my own struggles as a mother, and so I feel sure that it will do the same for another.

“My hope is that they will remember that their mom tried. Even when I am tired, even when I’m stressed, I hope they know that I do it all for them. I hope they will know that I had every intention of being great, good, and grand – but some days all I could be was okay.”

Leave a Reply

