Food and Recipes

Recipe time – Scrapple

What is scrapple, you might ask? I’ve never heard of this outside of my family, although I have vaguely heard of its cousin, fried mush, in a couple different places. Both of these are, to me, poor farm food – but no less delicious as far as that goes. I love both, although I have a particular soft spot for this version, as my grandpa would always make it for me. In the cookbook that my great aunt Joie put together for all of us, she writes about scrapple to her kids:

What is scrapple, did you say? Ha! Ask Uncle Phid about scrapple. Ask him to make you some, but give him 24 hours notice. When I was very young, if we got up early enough and dressed we could eat with the hired men – scrapple and/or fried potatoes. It takes an overnight to make it. 

I have this recipe on a card, written in my grandmother’s hand. It differs slightly from the recipe in my aunt’s book (in that you make the mush with some milk instead of all water).

20160610_123455-01.jpeg

Cornmeal Scrapple
6 servings

1 C. white or yellow cornmeal (I prefer yellow)
1 C. milk
1 tsp each sugar and salt
2 3/4 C. boiling water
8 oz (1/2 lb.) breakfast sausage that’s been cooked, drained, and crumbled.

In a saucepan, combine cornmeal, milk, sugar, and salt; gradually stirring in boiling water. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly (about 10 minutes). Reduce the heat; cook covered, 10 minutes longer or until very thick, stirring occasionally as it does stick.
Remove from the heat and stir in the sausage, then pour into a greased loaf pan. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate.

20160610_115524-01.jpeg
In the morning, unmold, and cut into 1/3″ slices. Dip both sides in flour, and brown both sides in oil over medium heat. Serve with maple syrup.

image

Leave a Reply

