Crafting

Decorating for a nine year old girl

I am overdue to write anything here. The summer has absolutely whizzed by – I can’t believe we’re within a couple weeks of the kids starting school. My summer has been filled with planning for another homeschool year (creating lesson plan templates, attendance record templates, lesson plans, etc.). I’ve also been busy with finally getting my oldest daughter into her own room, but it’s meant moving her sisters into the old room, her things into the old school/craft room, and all those things into the room that is upstairs. Of course, as I didn’t want to keep the apple blossom pink, it also meant repainting.

So then we were faced with the dilemma of decor – she didn’t want to keep all the “little girl” stuff that was on her walls before, and after having just bought a new bed for her we were short on funds. So I dug out my Cricut (which I haven’t used since last summer) and the Forever young cartridge and began creating these. 

I had some blank canvases tucked away, painted it with a coat of acrylic paint, mod podged some scrapbook paper to it, and then glued the designs to it. I picked up a can of mod podge pearlized glaze and sprayed it over with a coat of that.


I’m pretty happy with them – but more importantly, so is my daughter!

Leave a Reply

