Food and Recipes

Winter Foods

We just saw the end of daylight savings time, and the days are getting shorter and colder here. It is the beginning of winter, if I’m being truly honest with myself. Or to be as optimistic as possible, the lingering end of what was an actually beautiful fall here.
The shorter, almost always gray days here bring a sort of melancholy. But if I think of how much I used to love crunching through the mounds of leaves on the sidewalks and in the gutters as a child, I become just a little less melancholy.  I watch my girls and see the fun they have in the fall and winter, and I smile. I still don’t love our winters, but it’s less the snow and more the bitter cold  we have that makes me dread the coming season.

But then I think about the cozy, warm, wintery food that fits so beautifully well in this season; Julia’s Carbonnades a la flamande, chicken fricassee, my tavern stew, pot roast … the possibilities are mouthwatering.
Then I started thinking about this dish, courtesy of Nigella Lawson – whom I have such a fondness for. Regardless of the more recent media stories of her less than savory mistakes, she writes and speaks about food with such a warmth, an easy conversational tone.
This dish of hers is a favorite of mine.  It is simplicity to make, tastes delicious, and best of all (in my book) it’s a one pan meal.

nl0102_chicken_sausage1.jpg.rend.sni12col.landscape
Image courtesy of http://www.foodnetwork.com

One pan sage and onion chicken and sausage
Ingredients:
1 large onion
1/2 cup olive oil
2 tsp English mustard (if you can get it – if not I just used whole grain mustard)
1 Tbsp. dried sage
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 lemon
4 lb chicken (I used bone in chicken thighs)
12 sausages

Cut the onion into eighths, and put into a freezer bag along with the oil, mustard, dried sage, pepper, the juice and husk of the lemon, and the Worcestershire sauce. Squidge everything around to mix, and then add the chicken pieces. Marinate in the fridge overnight.

Heat the oven to 425 (F.). Arrange the chicken in a roasting tin (skin side up), along with all the marinade, and then tuck the sausages in all the open spots.
Roast for 1 hour, 15 min. Turn the sausages over halfway through cooking to brown on all sides.

Serve with a fresh salad (or other veg.), and maybe some roasted potatoes.

Leave a Reply

