Home and Family · Writing

An Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories

handmade-advent-calendar.jpg
Image courtesy of http://www.crafthubs.com

A few years ago, I saw an idea on a genealogy blog that I followed for a different kind of Advent Calendar. It’s all about writing down or childhood memories and family’s traditions, following a different theme each day.   With today being the first day of Advent, I wanted to share it, because I think it’s such a special thing to do for our children (and grandchildren, etc.) What a way to get to know the people in our lives …

The calendar is as follows:

  • The Christmas Tree
  • Holiday Foods
  • Christmas tree ornaments
  • Christmas Cards
  • Outdoor decorations
  • Santa Claus
  • Holiday Parties
  • Grab bag
  • Christmas Gifts
  • Other traditions
  • Charitable/Volunteer work
  • Holiday Travel
  • Fruitcake – Friend or Foe?
  • The Holiday happenings
  • Christmas at School
  • Grab bag
  • Christmas Stockings
  • Christmas shopping
  • Religious Services
  • Christmas music
  • Christmas and deceased relatives
  • Christmas sweetheart memories
  • Christmas Eve

I may not stick to the original list,  change it up as it applies to us – and We’ll see how many of these I manage to write this year – I have a feeling that this will be several years in the making for my girls. unfortunately I didn’t write down the blog I found so I can’t credit it.  

Leave a Reply

